1. أصوات من الموسيقى السورية
  2. التنوع الثقافي في سوريا
  3. الموسيقى والمجتمع في سوريا
  4. الموسيقى الدينية
  5. الموسيقى الشعبية
  6. موسيقى الجاز في سوريا
  7. صوت دير الزور

بقلم عبيد اليوسف

عُبيد اليوسف موسيقيٌّ من سوريا، يعمل على توثيق التراث الموسيقي المهدَّد بالاندثار لمدينته دير الزور، الواقعة على شرق الفرات بمحافظة دير الزور شرق سوريا.كانت هذه المحافظة من أكثر المناطق تضرراً والتي عانت تحت سيطرة ما يسمى بتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية. وفي مقابلة مع عبيد اليوسف، تحدَّث عن ارتباطه الشخصي بهذه المنطقة وتقاليدها الموسيقية، وما يجب فعله لإنقاذ التراث الثقافي والموسيقي لدير الزور.


كيف دخلْتَ إلى عالم الموسيقى وما  هي علاقتك بدير الزور ؟

ولدتُ في دير الزور عام 1986، ونشأتُ في أسرة فنية. كان والدي رساماً، وكنت أقضي الكثير من الوقت في الأستوديو الخاص به عندما كنت صغيراً. كانت هناك آلة موسيقية في بيتنا، وهي العود الخاص بأحد أصدقاء والدي، وكانت موضوعة ضمن أحد الخزائن. عندما كنت طفلاً، كنت أرغب دائماً في أن أجرب هذا “الشيء”. بالطبع لم يكن مسموحاً لي بلمس العود، وقد أخبرني والدي لاحقاً أنني كنت أبكي وأصرخ كل يوم، “أريد هذا الشيء!” بعد سنوات قليلة، بدأ أخي في تعلُّم العود، وبدأت أتعلم منه سرّاً. لاحقاً، بحث والدي لي عن معلم ثم التحقت بكلية الموسيقى في حمص، حيث أكملت شهادة الدبلوم في تعليمي الموسيقي وتقنية العزف الفردي. عملت لاحقًا محاضراً في جامعة حمص وقائد الأوركسترا في الأوركسترا الشرقية. وخلال هذا الوقت، بدأت الثورة في سوريا، وسار كل شيء  بغير ما هو مخطَّط له. تم اعتقالي لفترة من الوقت، وكنت معروفاً في حمص بأنني من معارضي الحكومة. بعد اعتقالي، لم يكن من السهل الاستمرار في العيش بشكل طبيعي في سوريا، فغادرت سوريا، ووصلتإلى ألمانيا في نهاية عام 2015. ومنذ ذلك الحين، أعمل كموسيقي ولدي مشاريع أوركسترالية ومشاريع موسيقية صغيرة. لكن دير الزور تظل موطني، فهناك توجد جذوري الثقافية.

Dayr az-Zawr, Hängebrücke über den Euphrat
جسر شهير فوق نهر الفرات في دير الزور © Claus-Peter Haase (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Straßenszene in einem Suq von Dayr az-Zawr
سوق في دير الزور © Jean-Claude David (CC-BY-NC-ND)

متى خطرت لك فكرة تركيز بحثك على دير الزور؟

في عام 2008، خطرت لي لأول مرة فكرة لتوثيق التراث الموسيقي على نهر الفرات، وبدأت في البحث عن مصادر للمعلومات والتسجيلات ولكنني لم أجد شيئاً. لم تكن هناك سوى تسجيلات متفرقة لحفلات الزفاف أو المناسبات الخاصة. إلا أنه كانت لدي بعض التسجيلات لأبي وبعض سكان المدينة الآخرين.

إذ كان والدي يحب هذه التقاليد، ففي كل مرة عندما كان أبي يعزف الموسيقى مع أصدقائه وأقرانه من الفناين، كان يقوم بتسجيلها، وقد احتفظتُ بهذه التسجيلات. وفيما بعد قام أخي بتحويلها إلى ملفات MP3. ولحسن الحظ، ما زالت هذه التسجيلات باقية، بما في ذلك تسجيلات من الأربعينيات وما قبلها، إلا أن المشكلة أن الغناء فيها لايكاد يكون مفهوماً.

(YouTube:فيديو مع تسجيلات موسيقية من دير الزور (المصدر

إلا أنه لم يكن هناك توثيق شامل للموسيقى على نهر الفرات، لذلك بدأت في جمع بعض الأغاني التي يمكنني العثور عليها مع صديق لي في ذلك الوقت عازمين على نشر ذلك في كتاب. ثم جاءت الثورة وأحرق الجيش منزلنا، ومع الحريق، فقدنا أدواتنا وجزءاً من وثائقنا. بالطبع تغيَّر الوضع منذ ذلك الحين. الآن سيتم نشر الكتاب باللغة الألمانية، وسأكتب نصوصه الموسيقية بالحروف اللاتينية والعربية، كما أنه يشرح من الناحية النظرية سبب عزف هذه الأغاني بهذا الشكل، وما هو السُّلَّم الموسيقي المستخدَم، وأفضل طريقة لعزفها. هذا مهم، حتى يكون السُّلَّم الموسيقي مفهوماً للأوروبيين؛ لأن النظام الموسيقي الأوروبي لا يعرف إلا النغمات الكبرى والصغرى فقط.

ما الذي يميِّز موسيقى دير الزور؟

اسم دير الزور يعني شيئاً مثل “كاتدرائية الزوار” باللغة الألمانية. كلمة دير  مرتبطة بمكان عبادة كالكاتدرائية والزور تعني زيارة. وهناك قصة تقول إن المدينة تحمل هذا الاسم لوجود كنيسة أو كاتدرائية كبيرة للزوار الذين لم يستطيعوا أن يجدوا مكانًا للنوم، وتم ايوائهم في الكاتدرائية أثناء الليل. ولا أعرف ما إذا كان هذا صحيحاً، لكن تقليد الضيافة هذا هو جزء من ثقافتنا، على الرغم من أن هذا قد تغيَّر بالتأكيد الآن خلال الحرب.

يتدفق نهر الفرات عبر مدينتنا ولدينا لجهتنا الخاصة. نفس الشيء مع الموسيقى. وإذا فحصنا التعقيدات والتفاصيل الضمنية للثقافة في دير الزور، يمكننا أن نرى بوضوح أن حدود الدولة تقف عادة عند السياسة ولا تعكس بالضرورة وجود حدودٍ ثقافية. لهجتنا متأثرة بشدة بالعراق وتركيا، نحن نتحدث بلهجة تشبه إلى حد كبير اللهجة العراقي، كما نستعمل العديد من الكلمات التركية في حياتنا اليومية. هناك أغان معينة تُغنى في الأعراس، رقصات خاصة، أو أغان تغنى عند التخرج من المدرسة الابتدائية.

(YouTube:فيديو مع تسجيلات موسيقية من دير الزور (المصدر

وعندما يَصدر صوت الأذان من مئذنة المساجد في دير الزور، فإن له وقعاً خاصاً  ومختلفاً عمّا يُسمع في حلب مثلاً. وهذا طبيعي؛ لأن الناس تأخذ أشياء جديدة من الأماكن التي يحتكون بها ويغيرونه. هناك أنواع معينة من الغناء التي تُغنَّى فقط في دير الزور، في منطقة نهر الفرات. هنا تطورت ترددات وميكروتونات خاصة، كمثل اللهجات المختلفة للغة. يمكنني سماع ثلاث نغمات لقطعة غنائية ما وأعرف على الفور أنها تأتي من دير الزور. وفي المقابل، هناك بالطبع أغانٍ وأصوات تسمعها في كل أنحاء سوريا

لكن في كل منطقة توجد طريقة خاصة للارتجال وعزف الموسيقى. على سبيل المثال، قد تجد نفس النص في ثلاثة أو أربعة أو خمسة أشكال مختلفة. وغالباً ما يتم غناء نفس اللحن لكن بشكل مختلف قليلاً. البعض يغني فقط على درجة السُّلَّم الموسيقي الثابتة، والبعض يغني حتى درجة تحت الثابتة، والبعض الآخر يغني لدرجات أعلى. إنها أغانٍ مشهورة تُغنَّى في كل مكان، لكن بتفسيرات مختلفة، وغالباً ما تختلف في شرق البلاد عن تلك في غربها.

(YouTube:فيديو مع تسجيلات موسيقية من دير الزور (المصدر

لماذا تعتقد أنه من المهم توثيق التراث الموسيقي لدير الزور؟

لا توجد مصادر مكتوبة من أي نوع حول الموسيقى في دير الزور، لكن قبل الحرب كانت هناك حياة، وكان من السهل دائماً العثور على شخص أو آخر ممن يعرفون شيئاً عن هذه المواضيع أو ممن  لديهم تسجيل صوتي قديم. الآن لم يَعُد هذا موجوداً، فلم تَعُد هناك أي متاحف في المنطقة. لا يزال هذا التوثيق متاحاَ في حلب ودمشق؛ لأن المكتبات هناك لم تُدَمَّر. ولكن في دير الزور، أحرق ما يسمى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية أو سرق أو باع كل شيء. حتى في الرقة أيضاً، والتي تبعد مسافة ساعتَين شمال دير الزور، ضاع كل شيء. تم تدمير الآلات الموسيقية. كل ما كان فنّاً تم حظره، لكنه لا يزال في أذهان بعض الناس. من يحفظ هذه المعارف من الناس سيموتون قريباً. زد على ذلك، فقد غادر الكثيرون البلاد، بعضهم في تركيا اليوم والبعض الآخر في الأردن، لكنهم لن يعيشوا إلى الأبد. إن الوقت ينفذ، وأريد توثيق هذا الإرث لأنه من المهم ألا نفقد تقاليد هذه المنطقة. أود كذلك إعادة تسجيل الأغاني مع أحد المطربين.

هذا العمل ضروروي كذلك من وجهة نظر بحثية. فهناك حالياً مقاطع فيديو مشكوك فيها على الإنترنت لموسيقيين يتظاهرون بأنهم مؤلفون لأغانٍ معينة. لا يتم معالجة مقاطع فيديو اليوتيوب ولا تُعَدّ مصادر موثوقة، ولا أحد مسؤول عن صحتها. يمكن للعمل التوثيقي أن يصحِّح هذا. نحتاج إلى توثيق واضح للموسيقى بالإضافة إلى توضيح سياقها الثقافي. وبهذا التوثيق سأُعَوْلِم -إذا جاز التعبير- الخصائص والتقاليد الموسيقية الخاصة بدير الزور، وهذا أمر مهم، حيث لا يعرف أحد ما الذي يُغنَّى هناك. إذا أنشأنا هذا التوثيق الآن، فستتاح لكل موسيقي وعالِم الفرصة ليتعرف على الأغاني الفريدة في هذه المنطقة ودراستها وتجربتها بصوتها الأصلي.

إلى أي مرحلة وصلت في التوثيق أو الجمع؟ وما هي التحديات التي تواجهها في عملك؟

لقد أكملت بالفعل المرحلة الأولى من تطوير كتاب التوثيق الخاص بي. لقد قمت بتوثيق ما يتراوح مجموعه بين 200-300 أغنية. أنا الآن في المرحلة الثانية، حيث أضبط الكلمات وأربطها حرفاً بحرف مع العلامات الموسيقية الملائمة لها، ثم أبدأ في البحث عن المصادر لأعزو المقطوعات الفنية إلى عازفيها. إنها أصعب مرحلة لأنني لا أستطيع السفر إلى سوريا. إلا أن هناك عددًا قليلًا من كبار السن الذين ما زالوا يعيشون في تركيا والأردن ويمكنهم مساعدتي في هذا الأمر، لكنه جهد ضخم لا أستطيع تحمُّله. وفي مرحلتي الأخيرة، أود العمل مع باحثين ألمان لجعل موسيقى وطني مفهومة للألمان؛ لهذا لا بد لي من ترجمة نظام العلامات الموسيقية والمفردات الخاصة بنا إلى نظام العلامات الموسيقية الألماني ومفرداته، ثم يأتي النشر بعد ذلك.  ولكن بكل الأحوال، لم أجد حتى الآن  فرصة لدعم وتمويل مشروعي ، لكنني أتحلى بالأمل أن يتم ذلك.

التعليق هنا

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

1. Intro- Voices of Syrian Music
  2. The Diversity of Syrian Music
  3. Music & Religion
  4. Music & Community in Syria
  5. Jazz Lives in Syria
  6. The Sound of Dayr az-Zawr

by Obeid Alyousef

Obeid Alyousef is a musician who is working on a book to document the endangered musical heritage of his hometown, Dayr az-Zawr. Located East of the Euphrates in the Dayr az-Zawr Governorate, it was one of the hardest hit areas to suffer under the control of the so-called Islamic State. In this interview, Obeid Alyousef talks of his personal connection to this region, its musical traditions and what must be done to save the cultural and musical heritage of Dayr az-Zawr.


Obeid, how did you get into music and what connects you to Dayr az-Zawr?

I was born in 1986 in Dayr az-Zawr and grew up in an artistic family. My father was a painter and as a child I spent a lot of time in his studio. In our house there was an instrument called the oud, which was kept in a cupboard and belonged to a friend of my father. I remember as a child always wanted to play this “thing” – of course, I wasn’t allowed to touch the oud.  My father later told me that everyday I cried and screamed: “I want that thing!”. A few years later my brother started to learn the oud. Secretly, I began to learn from him until my father looked for a teacher for me. Later on I applied to the music faculty in Homs, where I graduated with a degree in music. Following my studies, I worked as a lecturer at the university in Homs. Then the war in Syria began and nothing went according to plan. It was not easy to continue living as normal in Syria. I left Syria and in the end of of 2015 I came to Germany. Since then, I have worked as a musician and started an orchestra project and small musical projects. But Dayr az-Zawr remains my hometown, where my cultural roots are.

Dayr az-Zawr, Hängebrücke über den Euphrat
Famous bridge over the Euphrates river in Dayr az-Zawr © Claus-Peter Haase (CC-BY-NC-SA)
Straßenszene in einem Suq von Dayr az-Zawr
Suq von Dayr az-Zawr © Jean-Claude David (CC-BY-NC-ND)

When did you first have the idea to direct the focus of your research to Dayr az-Zawr?

It was in 2008, when I had the the idea to document the musical heritage of the Euphrates. I started to look for literature and recordings but could not find anything. There were only scattered recordings of weddings or special occasions. And I had a few recordings of my father and some other residents of the city.

My father loved these traditions and every time he played music with his friends, he recorded it. We have kept these recordings as a family archive. Luckily, these recordings have survived, including recordings from the 1940s and earlier. You can barely understand what is being sung.

Video mit Musikaufnahmen aus Dayr az-Zawr (Quelle: Youtube)

So, I began to collect some songs that I could find. I was working on it with a friend back then and was planning to publish everything in a book. Then the war started and our house was burnt. With the fire we lost our instruments and some of our collections. Since then the situation has of course changed. Now, the book will be published in German and I will write the text in Latin as well as Arabic letters. It also explains from a theoretical perspective why these songs are played in this form, what scale they are, and how one can play them best. This is important, so that the scale is understandable for the general European mind as the European musical system doesn´t include quarter tones, which is what distinguishes it to oriental music.  

What is special about the music from Dayr az-Zawr?

The name Dayr az-Zawr in German means something like “the monastery of the visitors”. The word Dayr means monastery, and Zor means visit. There is a story which says that the town got this name because there was a monastery, where visitors could go to, when they could not find a place to sleep. They found shelter in the monastery at night. Whether or not that is true, I don’t know. But this tradition of hospitality is a part of our culture. Now, because of the war, that has likely changed.

The Euphrates flows through our city and there is a particular dialect spoken. It is exactly the same with music. If we examine the subtleties and nondescript details of the culture in Dayr az-Zawr, we can clearly see that political state borders are often only political and not necessary reflect cultural borders. Our dialect is strongly influenced by Iraq and Turkey. We speak with a particular accent, which very closely resembles Iraqi dialect. Many words from our day-to-day parlance have been adopted from Turkish. We sing particular songs at weddings or when we finish primary school. We dance particular dances.

Video mit Musikaufnahmen aus Dayr az-Zawr (Quelle: Youtube)

When the call to prayer sounds from the mosque minarets in Dayr az-Zawr, we hear a particular tone scale and tone, whereas in Aleppo the call to prayer sounds very different – that is natural, as people adopt new things from the places the go to and transform them. Many songs are only sung in Dayr az-Zawr, in the region on the Euphrates. Here, special frequencies and microtones have developed, like the different accents of any language: I can hear three notes of a piece and immediately know that it is from Dayr az-Zawr. Of course, there are songs and sounds that you hear all over Syria.

But in every region there is a special way of improvising and making music. So, for example, it could happen that you find the same text in three, four or five different variations. Often, it is the same melody but sung a little differently. Some only sing up to the dominant and some sing up to the subdominant, others go higher. They are well-known songs that are sung everywhere, but in different interpretations, often varying between the east and the west of Syria.

Video mit Musikaufnahmen aus Dayr az-Zawr (Quelle: Youtube)

Why do you think it is important to document the musical heritage of Dayr az-Zawr?

There are no written sources about the music in Dayr az-Zawr.  But before the war there was life and one could always find someone who knew someone who knew something or had an old sound recording. Now, that no longer exists. We no longer have museums in the region. In Aleppo and Damascus there are still collections as the libraries there were not destroyed. In Dayr az-Zawr everything was either burned, pillaged or sold everything. And in Raqqa, two hours north of Dayr az-Zawr, everything is lost. Instruments were destroyed. All art was banned. But it is still preserved in a few people’s minds. The people who have that knowledge will soon pass away. Many of them have left the country and live in Turkey and some in Jordan. But they won’t live forever. Time is running out. I have the desire to document this heritage because it is important that we do not lose the traditions from this region. I would like to re-record the songs together with a singer.

This is also important from a research point of view: You can find dubious videos on the internet of musicians posing as the composer of certain songs. YouTube videos are not processed, reliable sources and nobody is responsible for their accuracy. Sources could correct this. We need a clear record of the music and its cultural context. Through this collection I could globalise the musical characteristics and traditions of Dayr az-Zawr, so to speak. And that is important. Because nobody knows what is being sung there. If we now create the collection, every musician and researcher has the opportunity to get to know, to study and to experiment with the unique songs from this region with its original sounds.

How far are you with the collection and what challenges do you face with your work?

I have already finished the first phase of my collection book. In total, I have documented between 200 and 300 songs. Now I am in the second phase, in which I check the lyrics and combine them letter by letter with the corresponding notes. After that I will begin with the source research in order to assign the pieces to their composers. It is the most difficult phase as I cannot travel to Syria. There are a few older people who still live in Turkey and Jordan who could help me with this. But it is a big undertaking that I cannot afford. In the last phase, I would like to transmit the music of my home town for German musicians and researchers. For this I have to translate our notation system and our terms into the German notation system and translate the vocabulary. However, I haven’t found any sponsors yet. But I won’t give up.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.